The Grass on the Other Side

So, this is super cliche, but I have been thinking about it lately.  The old question of, “Is the grass really greener on the other side?”  I was washing my hands in the bathroom of my four bedroom student housing apartment and something caught my attention.  On my side of the sink (being a caucasian girl) I have a bottle of fake spray tan, and on the other side of the sink my roommate (being Ethiopian) has a bottle of skin lightening cream.  I thought about it and really wondered why on earth would she ever want to lighten her beautiful dark skin?  Then I realized she would probably wonder why I would want to darken mine.

For most european descent people back in the day, it was ideal to be pale because it showed wealth.  It showed you didn’t have to do hard labor out in the sun.  Now, however having a nice tan is considered a good thing because you shows you have the wealth and leisure to lay out and bake in the sun (or during these harsh winters tanning indoors).  In my personal opinion, I always think a little color, or a lot, is very attractive.  A few sessions in the tanning bed or a little spray tan and suddenly my confidence is much higher and I walk taller.

So my question is.. what’s so bad about takin a little grass from the other side anyways?!  I know a lot of responses I’ve heard to this topic is to love yourself as you are, and just accept yourself for who you are.  Well I do!  I don’t think adding a little color or taking away a little color is so bad to do.  If it makes you feel better about yourself and makes yourself happier than have at it.  It’s no different than having your hair colored, a new outfit, or working out to stay fit and healthy to feel great about yourself!!  I give you all permission to grab grass from wherever you want to grab it from!!

Now, if you’ll excuse me I think I’ll go tanning… 😉

Leave a Reply

